Governor Abbott Announces 2023 Texas Women’s Hall Of Fame Honorees

~ Today, Governor Greg Abbott and the Governor's Commission for Women announced the selection of eight extraordinary Texas women for induction into the Texas Women's Hall of Fame. The honorees were chosen in recognition of their outstanding achievements in their respective fields and for changing the course of Texas history.

"The Texas Women's Hall of Fame recognizes and celebrates remarkable Texas women not only for their individual achievements but also for their contributions to building an even stronger Texas of tomorrow," said Governor Abbott. "These accomplished women have excelled in business, community service, philanthropy, public service, science, sports, and more. They are an inspiration for the next generation of leaders who will follow them."

The 2023 inductees are Leta Andrews (Athletics), Mary Horn (Public Service), Val LaMantia (Business), Opal Lee (Civic Leadership), Lavinia Masters (Advocacy/Community Service), Antonietta Quigg (Science/Technology), Charlotte Sharp (Philanthropy) and Elizabeth Suarez (Public Service).

Leta Andrews is being recognized for her more than five decades as a dedicated teacher and coach at Granbury High School, inspiring her students to be champions in sports and in life and leading the nation with the most career wins as a basketball coach. Mary Horn is being honored posthumously for her legacy of dedicated public service in 26 years of elected office as Denton County judge. Val LaMantia is being recognized for her business leadership as owner and managing partner of a beverage distribution company, her service to the McAllen community, and her role as a founding member of the STARS Scholarship Fund. Opal Lee is being honored for her community service in Fort Worth and her tireless advocacy nationwide to win federal recognition of Juneteenth holiday celebrating the end of slavery in the U.S., as well as promoting a message of unity and understanding. Lavinia Masters is being recognized for building on her faith to find power in her voice to speak up for survivors of sexual violence, raise awareness about rape kit backlogs, and bring justice through legislative action. Antonietta Quigg is being honored for leading critical marine-related research at Texas A&M University at Galveston and College Station that has led to a better understanding of Texas' coastal ecosystem while also mentoring student researchers. Charlotte Sharp is being honored posthumously for her legacy of faith-filled compassion and generosity volunteering time to help ease suffering while feeding hungry families and seeking shelter individuals struggling to find safe places to live. Elizabeth Suarez is being recognized for her journey through public service leadership forging regional ground air connectivity that has supported economic expansion across Rio Grande Valley and Texas.

More on
In addition to honoring these eight inductees into the 2023 Hall Of Fame class, Governor Abbott's Commission For Women will also celebrate Melissa Dora Oliver-Eakle who had a significant impact on Amarillo's early history prior to the induction ceremony on November 9th in Austin hosted by Governor Abbott & First Lady Cecilia Abbott.

The Texas Women's Hall Of Fame was established by The Governor's Commission For Women back in 1984 with its permanent exhibit housed at Texas Woman's University featuring biographies & photographs all recipients since then nominated biennially by Texans & selected by an independent panel judges including former First Ladies astronauts entrepreneurs public servants Olympic athletes & other women significant accomplishment . For more information about past honorees & The Texas Women's Hall Of Fame visit

Filed Under: Government, State

Show All News | Report Violation


Latest on