Governor Abbott Appoints Four To Texas Forensic Science Commission

~ Governor Greg Abbott has reappointed four individuals to the Texas Forensic Science Commission for terms set to expire on September 1, 2024. The Commission provides oversight over Texas crime laboratories and other entities conducting forensic analyses for use in criminal proceedings and is responsible for establishing procedures, policies, and practices to improve the quality of forensic analyses conducted in Texas.

Patrick Buzzini, Ph.D., of Spring has been reappointed to the Commission. He is an associate professor in Forensic Science at Sam Houston State University and was the 2019-2020 chair of the criminalistics section of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences. Additionally, he is a member of the Materials Subcommittee with the Organization of Scientific Areas Committees for standards development in forensic science and a member of the American Society of Trace Evidence Examiners. Dr. Buzzini received a Bachelor of Science, Master of Science, and Doctor of Philosophy in Forensic Science from the School of Criminal Sciences at the University of Lausanne in Switzerland.

More on
Michael Coble, Ph.D., from Fort Worth has also been reappointed to serve on the Commission. He is executive director and associate professor at the University of North Texas Health Science Center, Center for Human Identification. Coble is a fellow of both the American Academy of Forensic Sciences and Washington Academy of Sciences as well as a member International Society of Forensic Genetics. He received a Bachelor of Science in Biology from Appalachian State University and a Master of Forensic Science in Forensic Biology and Doctorate in Genetics from George Washington University.

Nancy Downing, Ph.D., from Bryan was also reappointed to serve on the Commission. She is an associate professor at Texas A&M University School Vice Chair for National Institute Standards Technology Organization Scientific Area Committees for Forensic Science as well as former president and director-at-large on Board Directors International Association Forensic Nurses (IAFN) Research Committee member Texas Office Governor Sexual Assault Survivors Task Force Campus Sexual Assault Working Group In 2019 she was inducted fellow American Academy Nursing nursing's highest honor Downing received Bachelor Science Master Science Doctor Philosophy Nursing University Iowa joined faculty January 2016

More on
Jasmine Drake, Ph.D., from Houston rounds out those appointed to serve on Commission She associate professor interim chair Department Administration Justice Barbara Jordan-Mickey Leland School Public Affairs Texas Southern University Previously served assistant professor Sam Houston State University Department Forensic Science College Criminal Justice Additionally served forensic chemist Drug Enforcement Administration's South-Central Laboratory Dallas Texas postdoctoral researcher National Institute Standards Technology Gaithersburg Maryland also criminalistics section member American Academy Forensic Science Drake received Bachelor Science Chemistry Southern Louisiana State Doctor Philosophy Chemistry Louisiana State University

The four individuals appointed by Governor Abbott have extensive experience within their respective fields that will be invaluable when providing oversight over crime laboratories conducting forensic analyses used in criminal proceedings throughout Texas.

Filed Under: Government, State

Show All News | Report Violation


Latest on