Governor Abbott Appoints Six To Texas School Safety Center Board

~ Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Melissa Dunbar and reappointed Edwin Flores, Ph. D., James Mosley, Noe E. Perez, Michael Slaughter, and Jill Tate to the Texas School Safety Center Board for terms set to expire February 1, 2025. The Board reports to the Governor, the legislature, the State Board of Education, and the Texas Education Agency regarding school safety and security and advises the Center on its function, budget, and strategic planning initiatives.

Melissa Dunbar of Center Point has been appointed to the Texas School Safety Center Board. She is a principal for the Medina Independent School District and holds a Bachelor of Arts in English, a Master of Education, and principal certification from Schreiner University.

Edwin Flores, Ph.D., of Dallas has been reappointed to the Texas School Safety Center Board. He is managing partner at Chalker Flores LLP and a member of the Dallas Independent School District (ISD) Board. He is also a member of the State Bar of Texas and United States Patent and Trademark Office as well as volunteering on boards for Mary Crowley Cancer Research Centers, Dallas Central Appraisal District, and Medical City Hospital Dallas. Flores holds a Bachelor of Science in Microbiology from The University of Texas at Austin (UT), a Doctor of Philosophy in Immunology from Washington University, and a Juris Doctor from UT School of Law.

More on
James Mosley of Borger has been reappointed to the Texas School Safety Center Board where he currently serves as Judge for 316th District Court. Governor Abbott previously appointed him to Crime Victims' Institute Advisory Council. He is also a member of State Bars of Texas and Colorado as well as American Board of Trial Advocates with Administration Rules Evidence Committee for State Bar of Texas membership under his belt. Mosley volunteers with local Boy Scout troops while being lifetime members with Veterans Foreign Wars and American Legion organizations. His educational background includes Bachelor Science Finance from University Colorado; Master's Public Administration from Troy State University; Juris Doctor from University Denver; honorable discharge United States Air Force at rank Captain.

Noe E Perez from Laguna Vista has been reappointed to serve on board for another term expiring February 1st 2025. He is social studies teacher Los Fresnos Consolidated Independent School District teaching U S government personal financial literacy Los Fresnos High School with over 30 years teaching experience including adjunct instructor UT Brownsville authoring historical articles published UT Rio Grande Valley Texas Southmost College Texas State Historical Association Handbook Online former volunteer March Dimes Relay Life Laguna Madre Lions Club holding Bachelor Science Mathematics UT Pan American Edinburg Master Arts Interdisciplinary Studies major History minors Government Sociology UT Brownsville degrees under his belt

More on
Michael Slaughter Wylie was reappointed serve board another term expiring February 1st 2025 assistant principal Princeton High School Princeton Texas ordained minister National Association Secondary School Principals Association Texas Professional Educators Texas Association Secondary School Principals volunteer Habitat Humanity Wylie Youth Soccer Association educational background includes Bachelor Arts Christian Studies Union University Master Education Educational Technology Leadership Lamar University currently pursuing Doctor Philosophy General Psychology Grand Canyon University

Jill Tate Colleyville was reappointed serve board another term expiring February 1st 2025 former small business owner project manager Turley Associates Inc assistant property manager Trammell Crow Company community member Grapevine Colleyville ISD Parent Teacher Associations ambassador nonprofit Patriot Paws volunteer Grapevine Relief Community Exchange program holds Bachelor Business Administration Real Estate Baylor University degree her name

The appointments were made by Governor Greg Abbott in order to ensure that school safety remains top priority in all areas across the state by having these individuals serve on this important board that reports directly to him as well as other governing bodies such as legislature state board education texas education agency their expertise will be invaluable when it comes making sure schools are safe secure environment students staff members alike

Filed Under: Government, State

Show All News | Report Violation


Latest on