Texas: Governor Abbott Amends, Renews Wildfire Disaster Proclamation In May 2024

~ Governor Greg Abbott of Texas has declared a state of disaster in multiple counties due to ongoing wildfires. The disaster proclamation was issued on February 27, 2024, after it was determined that the wildfires, which began on February 23, posed an imminent threat of widespread damage and loss of life or property.

The Texas Division of Emergency Management has confirmed that the same dangerous conditions continue to exist in several counties across the state. However, Fannin, Gregg, Harrison, Nacogdoches, Newton, and Upshur Counties have been excluded from the declaration.

In accordance with Section 418.014 of the Texas Government Code, Governor Abbott has amended and renewed the initial proclamation. This declaration includes Andrews, Archer, Armstrong, Bailey, Baylor, Borden, Brewster, Briscoe and many other counties.

More on Txylo.com
Under Section 418.017 of the Texas Government Code, Governor Abbott has authorized the use of all available resources from state government and political subdivisions to assist in managing this disaster.

Furthermore, any regulatory statutes or orders that may hinder necessary actions to cope with this disaster will be suspended upon written approval from the Office of the Governor. This includes any state agency's emergency response efforts that may be impeded by enforcement of state statutes or administrative rules regarding contracting or procurement.

As required by law, copies of this proclamation will be filed with appropriate authorities. The Governor's proclamation was officially signed on May 27th and attested by Secretary of State Jane Nelson.

The full text of Governor Abbott's proclamation can be viewed on his official website. The declaration serves as a call to action for all Texans to take necessary precautions and assist in any way possible during this time of crisis.

Filed Under: Government, State

Show All News | Report Violation


Latest on Txylo.com